Table 2

National prioritisation groups as of 22 December 2020

CountryEmergency use approval granted?Vaccine candidatePriority groups
UK2 December 2020Pfizer-BioNTech
  • Residents in a care home for older adults and their carers.

  • 80 years of age and over and front-line health and social care workers.

  • 75 years of age and over.

  • 70 years of age and over and clinically extremely vulnerable individuals.

  • 65 years of age and over.

  • 16–64 years with underlying health conditions which put them at higher risk of serious disease and mortality.

  • 60 years of age and over.

  • 55 years of age and over.

  • 50 years of age and over42 (age related).

USA11 December 2020Pfizer-BioNTechPhase 1a: Healthcare personnel and long-term care facility residents.
Phase 1b: Front-line essential workers and people aged 75 and older (front-line workers, elderly).
Phase 1c: People aged 65–74, people aged 16–64 with high-risk conditions, and other essential workers; and (high-risk groups).
Phase 2: People aged 16 and older not in phase 143 (rest of adult population).
Canada9 December 2020Pfizer-BioNTechStage 1: Residents and staff of congregate living settings that provide care for seniors; and (care workers).
Stage 2: Healthcare workers not included in the initial roll-out, residents and staff of all other congregate settings (eg, quarters for migrant workers, correctional facilities, homeless shelters) and essential workers44 (healthcare workers).
RussiaAugust 2020Sputnik-VThe initial vaccination programme was reportedly offered to employees in Moscow aged 18–60 who work in schools and the health service, and social workers45 (geographical focus: school staff, healthcare workers).
IsraelNoPfizer-BioNTechAfter healthcare workers and first responders, and people aged 60 and older, the next population group to receive the vaccine will be people in high-risk groups46 (healthcare workers, elderly then high-risk groups).
  • The table only includes countries that had begun vaccination and have publicly available data as of the 22 December 2020.